NFL Giving 2014 London Game Early Kickoff - Broadcasting & Cable

NFL Giving 2014 London Game Early Kickoff

Oct. 26 Lions-Falcons game will air at 9:30 a.m. on Fox
Author:
Publish date:

The NFL is expanding its International Series in London next year with three games across the pond and is experimenting with an earlier kick-off time for one of them.

The Oct. 26, 2014 game between the Detroit Lions and Atlanta Falcons will begin at 1:30 p.m. local time in London, which would be 9:30 a.m. ET. Up until now, those London games have started at 6 p.m. London time so it would coincide with the early 1 p.m. ET window for Fox and CBS.

Fox will air that game as a lead-in to its regular coverage that Sunday, meaning that there will be four separate game windows that day. The 9:30 a.m. kickoff is believed to be the earliest in NFL history.

“We are excited about playing three regular-season games in the UK for the first time and debuting a new game time that we expect to be a hit with fans on both sides of the Atlantic and around the world,” said Mark Waller, NFL chief marketing officer.

Related