Meet the Press leads Annenberg awards

Publish date:

NBC's Meet the Press won The USC Annenberg Walter Cronkite Awards for Excellence in Broadcast TV Political Journalism for moderator Tim Russert's preparation for interviews with presidential candidates.

Station group Hearst-Argyle Television was singled out for designating five minutes a day to candidate discourse. In large markets, Hearst's WCVB-TV, Boston won for candidate interviews, and NBC's WNBC-TV New York won for in-depth issue pieces.

In medium markets, awards were given to KING-TV Seattle, WFLA-TV Tampa, Fla, and KNXV-TV Phoenix. KTNV(tv) Las Vegas, KTRV(tv) Boise, Idaho and WGME-TV Portland, Me. won awards for small markets.
- Dan Trigoboff