House Energy & Commerce Committee Releases Witness List

Dec. 5 Oversight Hearing on FCC’s Media-Ownership-Rule Review 12/03/2007 09:01:00 AM Eastern

The House Energy & Commerce Committee released the witness list for a Dec. 5 (9:30 a.m.) oversight hearing on the Federal Communications Commission’s media-ownership rule review.

Capitol Hill

Chairman John Dingell (D-Mich.) has been calling on FCC chairman Kevin Martin to hold off on a vote (on loosening newspaper/broadcast cross-ownership rules.

As expected, all five of the FCC commissioners will testify in the first panel. In addition, a second panel will include broadcasters, newspaper representatives and activists.

The second panel will include: John Sturm, Newspaper Association of America; Juan Gonzalez, former president, National Association of Hispanic Journalists; Faye Williams, National Congress of Black Women; Andrew J. Schwartzman, Media Access Project; Sidney Bliss, Bliss Communications; Jerald Fritz, Allbritton Communications; and Andrew Levin, Clear Channel Communications.

Want to read more stories like this?
Get our Free Newsletter Here!