News Articles

A Taste of NATPE

Highlights of the Jan. 23-26 convention at Mandalay Bay Resort, Las Vegas 1/20/2006 07:00:00 PM Eastern

Monday Jan. 23


8:30 A.M.-6:30 P.M.

Produced by iHollywood Forum, sessions on the impact of and business opportunities for wireless, mobile and digital distribution.


6-7:30 P.M. Ballroom L

B&C, Multichannel News, Variety and NATPE honor programming professionals who exhibit extraordinary passion, leadership, independence and vision: Steven Bochco, Steven Bochco Productions; Marc Cherry, creator/executive producer, Desperate Housewives, Cherry Productions; Pat Mitchell, president/CEO, PBS

$100 per ticket, available until 5 p.m. at NATPE registration desk

Tuesday, Jan. 24


8:45-9 a.m. Ballroom H

Speakers:Stephen J. Davis, InfoSpace; Rick Feldman, NATPE; John Weiser, Sony TV


9-10 a.m. Ballroom H

Moderator:J. Max Robins, editor in chief, B&C; speaker:Ray Nagin, mayor, New Orleans; panelists:Sandy Breland, WWL; Mason Granger, WDSU; Peter Kovacs, Times Picayune; Leon Long, WLOX; Raymond Schonbak, Emmis Communications

Consumer Choices and Market Metrics in a Converging Media World

10:30-11:20 a.m. Ballroom I

Moderator:Deborah Bothun, Pricewaterhouse­Coopers; panelists:Carla Hendar, Ogilvy North America; Cathy Hetzel, Rentrak; David Katz, Yahoo! Media Group; Ryan O'Hara, TV Guide Channel; Shawn Strickland, Verizon

Digital rights management: The Elephant in the Room

1-2 p.m. Ballroom H

Moderator:Jon Healey, Los Angeles Times; panelists:James Behrens, Orb Networks; Michael Nathanson, Sanford C. Bernstein & Co.; Blair Westlake, Microsoft; Ronald C. Wheeler, Fox Entertainment Group; C. David Wolf, Accenture

Taking Mobile to the Mainstream

2-3 p.m. Ballroom J

Moderator:Teemu Virtanen, Starcut; panelists:Salil Dalvi, NBC Universal; Ilkka Raiskinen, Nokia; Michael Ramke, Crown Castle Mobile Media; Jon Vlassopulos, Endemol USA

Digital Strategies: Evolve and Prosper

2:30-3:30 p.m. Ballroom H

Moderator:Chris Marlowe, Hollywood Reporter; panelists:Jeff Gaspin, NBC Digital; Keith Hindle, FremantleMedia Licensing Worldwide; Larry Kramer, CBS Digital Media; Ross Levinsohn, Fox Interactive Media; Steve Wadsworth, Disney Internet Group

Telenovelas: No Longer Latin America's Best Kept Secret

3:30-4:30 p.m. Ballroom I

Moderator:Raul Mateu, William Morris Agency; panelists:Barbara Bloom, CBS Entertainment; Nely Galan, gaLAn Entertainment; Maria Lucia Hernandez Frieri, RCN TV; Steve Kent, Sony TV Intl.; Mike Murphy, FremantleMedia

Upfronts I–Advertising & Content: A Wishlist for the Future

3:30-4:20 p.m. Ballroom J

Moderator:Allison Dollar, Interactive TV Alliance; panelists:David Adelman, Johnson & Johnson; Kelly Konis, Old Navy; Steve Odekerk, Omation; Conrad Riggs, Mark Burnett Productions

SERIOUSLY. The Sitcom is Back!

4-5 p.m. Ballroom H

Moderator:Craig Tomashoff, TV Guide Inc.; panelists:Carter Bays, How I Met Your Mother; Greg Garcia, My Name Is Earl; Ali LeRoi, Everybody Hates Chris; David Stapf, Paramount Network TV; Craig Thomas, How I Met Your Mother; Dana Walden, Twentieth Century Fox TV

Wednesday, Jan. 25

Coffee With Mark Pedowitz, president, Touchstone Television

8-8:45 a.m. Ballroom J

Moderator:Andrew Wallenstein, Hollywood Reporter

The Changing Face of Cable

12 noon-1 p.m. Ballroom H

Moderator:Steven Borden, Borden Media Consulting; panelists:Sean Bratches, ESPN; Billy Campbell, Discovery Networks; Doug Holloway, NBC Universal Cable; Ray Katz, Bear, Stearns & Co.; Jeff Shell, Comcast

Mobile TV: What Will Carriers Want (and Programmers Want to Deliver)?

12:15-1:15 p.m. Ballroom I

Moderator:Mark Desautels, CTIA–The Wireless Association; panelists:Robin Chan, Verizon Wireless; Rob Hyatt, Cingular Wireless; Paul Reddick, Sprint Nextel; Cyriac Roeding, CBS Corp.

Big Screen? Small Screen? What About the New Screens? Parts I and II

1:15-2:40 p.m. Ballroom J

Presenter:Josh Bernoff, Forrester Research; panelists:Jeremy Allaire, Brightcove; John Davis, Eco-Nova Productions; Daniel Myrick, Gearhead Pictures

Primetime Afterlife

1:45-2:45 p.m. Ballroom I

Moderator:Eric Frankel, Warner Bros. Domestic Cable Distribution; panelists:Jed Cohen, Buena Vista TV; Jonathan Katz, Turner Entertainment Group; Diane Robina, Comcast; Tom Zappala, ABC Family

Behind the Screen—Pigments of Your Imagination

3:15-4:30 p.m. Ballroom J

Moderator:Guy Garcia, MentaMetrix; panelists:Michael Hong, ImaginAsian TV; Reginald Hudlin, BET; Johnathan Rodgers, TV One; Robert Townsend, Black Family Channel Productions; Jeff Valdez, Sí TV

Redefining Broadcaster Value in a Digital World

4-5 p.m. Ballroom H

Moderator:Diane Mermigas, Hollywood Reporter; panelists:David J. Barrett, Hearst-Argyle TV; Gary Chapman, LIN TV; Deb McDermott, Young Broadcasting; Perry A. Sook, Nexstar Broadcasting Group; Michael D. Wortsman, Univision TV Group

Mobile Content: What's Playing and What Do People Want to See?

4:30-5:30 p.m. Ballroom I

Moderator:Steve Bradbury, GoTV Networks; panelists:Frank Chindamo, Fun Little Movies; Mitch Feinman, News Corp.; Bruce Gersh, ABC TV Network; John Najarian, E! Networks; Bob Schukai, Turner Broadcasting System

Thursday, Jan. 26

The Change Agents

9-10 a.m. Ballroom H

Moderator:Chris Gaither, Los Angeles Times; panelists:Jennifer Feikin, Google; Patricia Karpas, AOL TV Ventures; Blake Krikorian, Sling Media; Ira Kurgan, Yahoo! Media Group; Kevin Wall, Network Live

The Future of TV Opening Address

9:30-9:50 a.m. Ballroom I

Speaker:Dan York, SBC Communications

The Future of TV I: Programming Cross-Platform Content

9:50-10:50 a.m. Ballroom I

Moderator:David Jensen, Zetools; panelists:Adam Bain, Fox Sports Interactive Media; Jeff Bartee, Mobi­TV; Sibyl Goldman,; Stephen Nuttall, BSkyB; David Watson, Disney Channel

The Research Revolution

10:30-11:30 a.m. Ballroom H

Moderator:David Poltrack, CBS TV; panelists:Paul Donato, Nielsen Media; Bill Katz, VisibleWorld; Stacey Lynn Koerner, Initiative; David Mumford, Sony Tele­vision; Ken Papagan, Rentrak

The Future of TV II: Advent of Broadband TV & IPTV

11 a.m.-12 noon Ballroom I

Moderator:Brian Seth Hurst, Academy of TV Arts & Sciences/Opportunity Management Co.; panelists:Joseph Cantwell, Starz Entertainment Group; Channing Dawson, Scripps Networks; Bruce Eisen, CinemaNow; Amy Friedlander, SBC Communications; Adam Gerber, Brightcove

Carry On Content Part 1: Non-Scripted Programming the Networks Want

11 a.m.-2 noon Ballroom J

Moderator:Ray Solley, William Morris Agency; panelists:Jayson Dinsmore, NBC Entertainment; Zig Gauthier, GSN; Robyn Lattaker-Johnson, BET; Curt Northrup, Granada Entertainment

The Brand People

12 noon-1 p.m. Ballroom H

Moderator:Michael Kassan, MediaLink; panelists:Daryl Evans, Cingular; Peter Moore, Microsoft; John Raven, Mazda North American Operations; John Ross, Home Depot; Jon Stimmel, Unilever U.S.


Alert to All Users of the Disqus commenting system:
Because of a recent global security issue, the Disqus website recommends that all users change their Disqus passwords. Here's a URL about the issue: