News Articles

NATPE Names Tartikoff Winners

Itkin, Roth, Tellem, Wright to be feted at ceremony 10/19/2007 08:00:00 PM Eastern

Mark Itkin, Peter Roth, Nancy Tellem and Bob Wright will be honored with Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Awards in a ceremony on Jan. 28 at the 2008 National Association of Television Program Executives convention.

The Fifth Annual Tartikoff Legacy Award is named after Brandon Tartikoff, the late entertainment president at NBC who died in 1998 of complications from Hodgkin's disease when he was just 48.

Under Tartikoff's guidance, NBC went from last place to ratings dominance. He was responsible for bringing landmark shows like Hill Street Blues, Cheers and The Cosby Show to the network. Not many people knew about his illness, and he went to elaborate lengths to make sure few knew that he was sick.

The Tartikofff Legacy Award is given by NATPE in association with Broadcasting & Cable, Variety and Multichannel News, as well as NBC Universal.

Itkin is the executive vice president, worldwide, and co-head of television at the William Morris Agency. Roth is president of Warner Bros. Television and the new Warner Horizon Television.

Tellem was promoted in 2004 to the then newly created post of president, CBS Paramount Network Television Entertainment Group.

Wright is vice-chairman and CEO of General Electric. He had been president of NBC since 1986 and then became chairman and CEO of the network; from 2004 until earlier this year, he was chairman and CEO of NBCU.

The Tartikoff Legacy Award will be held at the Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas from 6-8 p.m.

Tickets are available, at $100 each, through NATPE's Website.